Zucchini for Dessert

While making cookbooks for my family as Christmas gifts, I ran across this recipe from my aunt Irene in the Chicken Show/125th Anniversary for City of Wayne Cookbook. My aunt was on the planning committee for this cookbook as the Assistant Director for the Wayne Area Economic Development and member of The Chicken Show planning committee.

Irene is also domestic goddess. Not only can she cook but she can also knit/crochet/sew. My newest amazing gift from her is a pair of fingerless gloves. But as I child I remember my uncle Ed making me a doll cradle and my aunt Irene making me my Raggedy Ann & Andy Dolls. Homemade gifts from talented people are wonderful at any age.

I cooked this cake earlier this week and shared with my co-workers. One of my co-workers is doing Weight Watchers so we plugged it in to figure out the points. Each slice is 6 points. I’m sure if you substituted applesauce or yogurt for oil, used egg substitute, switched to whole wheat flour, or used a sugar substitute like Stevia, you could make it a little healthier. The cake was very moist with a more Mexican flavor using the cinnamon and cocoa. Would probably be a great side for my chili recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini CakeChocolate Zucchini Cake by Irene Fletcher
1/2 c. margarine
1/2 c. oil
1 3/4 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. sour milk (1/2 T. lemon juice and 1/2 c. milk)
2 1/2 c. flour
4 T. cocoa
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. grated zucchini
1 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. chopped nuts

Cream together butter, oil, and sugar. Add eggs, vanilla, and sour milk. Stir in grated zucchini. Sift together flour, cocoa, soda, cinnamon, and salt. Blend with creamed mixture. Pour into greased 13 x 9 pan. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and nuts. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

One response

  1. To peel or not to peel, that is always the question with zucchini. For this recipe, I peel it in case I elect not to reveal all the ingredients! This is a good place for the zucchinis that have gotten big and seedy. Just scoop out all the seeds before shredding.
    PS Ed would have added chocolate frosting, but it reminds me of snacking cakes without.
    PPS I prefer Queen of Randomness, since I am not an expert at any of the aforementioned activities!

Leave a Reply

