Mr. Food’s

I don’t know about any of you but I was a news junkie as a kid. On my days off, I would watch about every newscast during the day – including KTIV Channel 4 for News at Noon with Al Jones. For those of you still in the Sioux City viewing area, Al still does the Noon news. My father was telling me though that he has a co-anchor now. But I digress. In addition to getting the latest in farm news like the price of cattle, corn, and soybeans, you could also catch a segment with Mr. Food’s. Now I am assuming that Mr. Food’s is a syndicated segment that stations can add but I don’t think they still carry it on KTIV. One of the favorite recipes and first cheesecake I ever baked from scratch was a Mr. Food’s Heath Bar Chocolate Chip Cookie Cheesecake (one of my sister’s favorite recipes I promise to share in a future post).

While home for Thanksgiving, my sister gave me a stack of cookbooks and cooking magazines to review. She told me if I wanted any of them, I could have them. One of the cookbooks was Mr. Food’s Quick & Easy Diabetic Cooking. My sister isn’t diabetic so I am going to assume she got it from my grandmother. But I love Mr. Food’s and he has some great recipes in it. This recipe is a slight variation on one in his cookbook. Instead of hot sauce, I substituted sweet and sour sauce. Probably a little less healthy but turned out pretty good.

Buffalo Chicken Strips
Chicken Fingers
1 & 1/2 lb. chicken breast, cut into strips
one small can of French’s Onions, crushed (the ones you put on green bean casserole)
1/4 c. sweet Thai sauce

Cover a cookie sheet in foil. Lightly coat the chicken with sauce, then do the same with French’s onions. Place chicken strips on baking sheet and cook for 10 minutes at 450 degrees.

Note: If you cook with hot cayenne pepper sauce instead of sweet Thai sauce, here are the nutritional facts based on eating three – 1 oz. strips. 196 calories (84 calories from fat), 9 g. fat (3 g. saturated fat), 51 mg cholesterol, 255 mg. sodium, 0 g. fiber, 0 g. sugars, and 20 g. protein.

Leave a Reply

