Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies

One of my friends and old co-workers loves red velvet cake. When I saw this recipe, it seemed like the perfect surprise thank you gift. You see, he asked his wife (another friend and co-worker) to give me a ride to pick-up my car from the repair shop. I truly appreciate the kind gesture and never forgot it.

In January, I shared a post from a friend on my Facebook wall. You may have seen it, if you “like” the post, you will receive the surprise at some point from me throughout the year. Four of my friends responded and I haven’t forgotten. I started with Nick in celebration of Kindness Week. I couldn’t think of a better time to repay the favor. Since his wife helped me with the surprise (as well as the ride), I asked him to be sure to share with Sara.

Nick, Sara, and my family all loved this recipe. Very soft and moist.

100_0904Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies from Pinterest (adapted from a Paula Deen recipe)
8-oz cream cheese, at room temperature (I used reduced fat)
1/2 c. butter, at room temperature
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 box red velvet cake mix
confectioners’ sugar

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the cream cheese and butter. Beat in the egg, then add vanilla. Beat in the cake mix until completely combined. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Roll the dough into balls. Roll dough balls in confectioners’ sugar, and place on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

