Meat Loaf Wellington

The other day I was thinking about how I haven’t made meatloaf in while. I decided to flip through my cookbooks to see if I had any jazzed up meatloaf recipes. I ran across one for Meat Loaf Wellington that I had made once before when my mother had come to visit. I remembered it was good so I thought I would give it another spin.

Meat Loaf WellingtonMeat Loaf Wellington by Wanda Orton (Emporia, KS)
1 can of beef gravy
1 1/2 c. day-old bread
1/4 c. chopped onion
1 egg
1 tsp. salt
2 lb. ground beef
1 tube of refrigerated crescent rolls (8 oz.)

In a bowl, combine 1/4 c. gravy, bread cubes, onion, egg, and salt. Crumble meat over mixture and mix well. Press into a greased loaf pan and bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Remove from loaf pan and drain on paper towels. Place on a greased 13 x 9 pan and wrap in crescent roll. Bake 10-15 minutes longer or until pastry is golden brown. Heat remaining gravy and drizzle on meatloaf.

Notes:

  • I used croutons instead of day old bread. I crumbed them in a baggie before mixing with the meat.
  • I used only 1 pound of ground beef and 1/2 a crescent roll container. I baked for 45-50 minutes since I was using less meat.
Leave a Reply

