Crockpot BBQ

Living in Kansas City, I think it is a requirement to eat BBQ. The funny thing about Kansas Citians is that everyone has their favorite barbeque restaurant – and you won’t always get the same answer. My personal favorite Fiorella’s Jack Stack Barbecue. But I’m very lucky to live less than a mile from Zarda’s BBQ so I can enjoy the smell of barbecue almost any day I decide to go for a walk. And this weekend, I also can enjoy smells from the Lenexa BBQ Cook-off just down the street.

I ran across this recipe using Sweet Rays BBQ Sauce on Facebook a few weeks ago. I had two chicken breasts thawing in my fridge so I decided to give it a try after work one day. I cut them in half and they cooked up in about 2 1/2 hrs on low. It is very juicy and full of flavor. Sweet sauce with just a bit of a kick.

Crock Pot BBQ ChickenCrock Pot BBQ Chicken
4-6 chicken breast
1 jar of your favorite BBQ sauce (I like KC Masterpiece)
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. vinegar (your choice)
I tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. red pepper flakes

Place pieces of chicken in a crock pot. Mix remaining ingredients and pour over chicken. Cook on low for 4-6 hours.

One response

Leave a Reply

