Sugar-Cone Chocolate Chip Cookies

When I was a kid, one of my sister and my favorite cereals was Ice Cream Cone Cereal. It was recently listed in a “You know you are a kid from the 80s if…” list on the internet. It made my sister and I laugh. I think one of the reasons we liked the cereal so much was because we loved getting sugar cones when we went to Goodrich.

This recipe came from my most recent issue of Taste of Home’s Simple and Delicious Magazine (August/September 2013). I happened to have some sugar cones at my house that I bought for another recipe so I decided to give it a try. The smell of it baking is like that wonderful smell when you walk into a homemade ice cream store – like Murray’s or Sylas & Maddy’s (my KC favs). It also combines a soft cookie with a crunch. I think it would be fabulous to serve these warm with homemade vanilla ice cream. Heaven in your mouth!

Sugar Cone Chocolate Chip CookiesSugar-Cone Chocolate Chip Cookies by Paula Marchesi
1 c. butter, softened (2 sticks)
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
3 tsp. vanilla
2 1/4 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. chocolate chips
2 c. coarsely chopped sugar cones
1 c. sprinkles

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream together sugars and butter. Add eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and salt. Slowly add to creamy mixture. Gradually add sprinkles and chocolate chips. Fold in sugar cone. Scoop onto baking sheet and cook for 8-10 minutes.

Notes:

  • I halved the recipe.
  • I also used about half as much sprinkles as recommended. Still pretty and crunchy.
Leave a Reply

