The Quest Continues

100_1059If you have been following my blog for awhile, you know I’m on a mission to share 101 crescent roll recipes with you. This one comes from a popular Pinterst photo. The recipe comes from a Navy wife’s blog. Two of my uncles served in the Navy and I dated a Naval Academy alum (even visited the college in Annapolis for homecoming once) so you have to respect that. I wouldn’t say this isn’t something you couldn’t have come up with on your own but it was quite taste and a fun  way to make it.

Bacon, egg, & cheese ringBacon, Egg, & Cheese Ring
1 can of crescent rolls
5 eggs
1 c. cheese
8 slices of bacon, cooked

Scramble and cook eggs. Layout the crescent rolls in an eight sided star shape (make the wide sides lay on top of each other in the center). Top with 1/3 c. of cheese and cooked bacon. Top with scrambles eggs and remaining cheese. Pull the skinny tips up and seal together. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-17 minutes.

Notes:

  • I used reduced fat crescent rolls.
  • I used three eggs and the equivalent of two egg whites with from substitute. I also added milk because I like my eggs fluffy.
  • I used probably the equivalent of 3-4 slices of crumbled reduced sodium bacon. I thought it was plenty. You could easily use turkey bacon. If you substitute the precooked bacon, you might want to use all eight slices. If you prefer ham or sausage, you can also easily substitute.
  • I decided to smear a thin layer of nacho cheese on the bottom instead of cheddar cheese. I topped with about 1/3 c. of fat free cheese. As long as you cover it, the cheese will melt fine.
  • I cooked for 15 minutes on an air bake pan and it turned out perfect. The original recipe suggests foil or parchment paper on your cookie sheet.
One response

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2013 | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

