Doritos Casserole

If you have followed my blog since the beginning, then you may have seen another Doritos recipe. This recipe is a little different and uses chicken instead of ground beef. I also made it a little healthier with some simple substitutions.

Doritos Chicken CasseroleDoritos Casserole from Pinterest
3 c. cooked chicken, diced
8 oz. sour cream
2 cans of cream of chicken soup
1 1/2 c. salsa
2 c. cheddar cheese
a bag of Doritos

Crumble Doritos and sprinkle of the bottle of a lightly greased 13 x 9 pan. In a bowl, mix chicken, sour cream, salsa, soup, and a cup of cheese. Pour over Doritos. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Cover with remaining cup of cheese and bake an additional 5 minutes.

Notes:

  • I halved the recipe and baked it in my bubble and brown dish.
  • I grilled boneless, skinless chicken breast. Rotisserie chicken would have also been good.
  • I used fat free sour cream. You could substitute non-fat Greek yogurt.
  • I used the healthy choice Cream of Chicken Campbell’s soup. You could also use the fat free version.
  • I made my salsa using Wildtree Fiesta Salsa mix and a can of reduced sodium diced tomatoes. You could also use a can of Rotel or fresh tomatoes.
  • You could use Baked Doritos for the base of this recipe.
  • I used 2% cheddar cheese for the topping and fat free cheddar cheese in the chicken mixture.
  • A Mexi-corn mixture or black beans would make a great veggie addition.
Leave a Reply

