HIMYM

If you are a fan of How I Met Your Mother, you most likely got the HIMYM reference. I actually didn’t start watching the show until about a year ago on Netflix but ended up watching all the seasons consecutively by the end of Christmas break. I used to think the story was Marshall (Jason Segal) telling his children how he met their mother Lily (Alyson Hannigan). Although a friend set me straight, I hadn’t figured out how to get into the show in syndication. I realized it is one of those shows you really need to watch straight through to get all the references in futures episodes.

I think one of the reasons this show resonated with me so well because I could relate to the Ted character. As a single 36 year old, I’ve dated more than my far share of guys. It’s frustrating too because I’m a good girlfriend and the type of person you set down with. I’ve even had relationships with serious boyfriends end because they didn’t share my vision for wanting children. My friends are also a little like Lily and Marshall. So many of them found their perfect matches (although years after college). They also continue offer encouragement that I will find the person I’m meant to be with. On occasion, I know they’ve even wanted to yell at me – “break-up with that guy”.  And we share a few little secrets that only REAL friends would do for you.

I was super excited heading into the finally season because we got to meet the mother. Unfortunately, this season isn’t what I had in mind. I should have known when I read in Entertainment Weekly they would be flashing forward to Ted and “The Mother” that we would be stuck in Barney and Robin’s wedding for the entire season.

This recipe comes from the season 9 premiere in which Lily and “The Mother” meet on the train. “The Mother” befriends Lily by calming her down with cookies. Lily says, “Sumbitches” when she bites into the first one and “The Mother” informs her that is what the cookies are called. May you enjoy these cookies as much as my co-workers did today.

SumbitchesSumbitches by “The Mother” on How I Met Your Mother courtesy of People magazine
1 c. butter
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar
1 c. creamy peanut butter
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
36 bite sized chocolate covered caramels

Beat together first four ingredients. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix remaining dry ingredients in a small bowl. Add to creamy mixture slowly. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Shape 2 T. of dough around candy and place three inches apart on baking sheet. Cook for 13-14 minutes at 350 degrees.

Notes:

  • I used Rolos but you could use Milky Ways.
  • The recipe didn’t say whether or not to soften the butter. I did.
  • I refrigerated for an 1 1/2 hours before baking.
Leave a Reply

