Wacky and Wild Stuff

It’s been so long since Johnny Carson retired from The Tonight Show that Jay Leno is about to hand it off for the second time. Johnny was from the town of Norfolk, NE – where half my family lives. And like me, Johnny was an alum of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Although I don’t think he ever had this cookie in mind, one of his catch phrases popped into my head when I ran across this recipe.

If you’ve even been in one of those fancy chocolate shops like at Crown Center, you’ve probably noticed they make chocolate covered potato chips. In fact, the new “it” taste is salted caramel mocha. It’s everywhere – including my favorite Starbucks drink.

When I ran across this recipe on Pinterest, I thought to myself “I have to try this recipe”. I figured it would either be the best or the worst cookie I ever made. Although I don’t think it is better than my Chocolate Crinkle recipe or will be as popular as my Weight Watchers three-ingredient cookie recipe, I did enjoy it and will definitely make it again.

Sweet & salty cookiesSweet and Salty Potato Chip Toffee Cookies from Pinterest
2 c. plus 2 T. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 c. butter, softened
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 egg yolk, room temperature
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. crushed chips (I used Reduced Fat Ruffles)
1/2 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. Heath bits or chopped Heath candy bar

Mix dry ingredients in one bowl. In another bowl, blend together butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. Slowly add flour mixture and beat. Fold in chips, chocolate chips, and Heath bits. Chill for 30 minutes. Bake at 325 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Makes approximately 3 dozen cookies.

One response

Leave a Reply

