Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

I recently decide to purchase and cook a spaghetti squash for the first time. I had tried a recipe at work that was pretty good and had a few others on Pinterest I wanted to cook. I thought I had heard Rachael Ray once say to put it in the microwave for a few minutes to make it softer so you cut it. I ended up cooking it that way because it was way faster. I’ll share with you two ways to cook this recipe. Using spaghetti squash in place of pasta is better for you. I think one half of a squash has only 40 calories. Plus, you get lots of natural vegetable vitamins.

You will be amazed just how much of this vegetable you can scrap out. A YouTube video I found also said they can last for 3-4 weeks on your counter before cooking too.

Spaghetti SquashSpaghetti Squash Lasagna Bowls from Pinterest
2 small spaghetti squash, cut in half and seeded
1 T. oil

1 lb. of ground turkey
1 T. oil
1 onion, diced
2 gloves of garlic, chopped
½ tsp. red pepper flakes
½ tsp. fennel seeds, crushed
1 can of crushed tomatoes
1 T. tomato paste (optional)
1 tsp. Italian seasoning
1 bay leaf
½ tsp. paprika
1 T. balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper
1 T. basil

1 c. low fat cottage cheese
1 T. basil
1 c. mozzarella

Bake squash face down for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. Meanwhile, cook your sauce. Fluff the inside of the squash. Stuff with cottage cheese and basil, then sauce, and top with shredded cheese. Broil for 2-3 minutes.

Notes:

  • I used a heart healthy jar sauce to save time. I also used ground beef instead of ground turkey.
  • I cut ten slits in the squash and placed in a microwave dish. It was probably about 2 lb. so I cooked it for 12 minutes, flipping halfway through. I left it rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting open and de-seeding. I cut the ends off making it easier to slice open.
  • Since the shell was too soft, I scraped out one side of the squash and placed in a baking dish and topped with ingredients. Then, I broiled it for three minutes.
Leave a Reply

