Cranberry Orange Sauce

I know all of you are frantically planning your Thanksgiving dinners. A few weeks ago, my boyfriend and I took a class at the Culinary Center of Kansas City. It was the second class we had taken there. The theme for the class was “Everything But the Bird.” At the end of the class, Jeremiah and I were ready to cook fresh dishes for our families. I made this one up today. My teacher served it over cheese and crackers. I bet it would also be good on a post Thanksgiving turkey sandwich. Super easy so I hope you will give it a try.

Cranberry sauceCranberry Orange Sauce with Apricots by Rachel Ciordas
12 oz. fresh cranberries
½ c. dried apricots, chopped
½ c. unsweetened applesauce
½ c. orange juice
¼ c. fruit preserves

Combine all ingredients and cook over a medium-high heat until cranberries pop (about 10 minutes). Cool and serve at room temperature.

Notes:

  • I used apricot preserves.
  • You can use frozen cranberries. I got these on sale last week for $.98 at Sprouts. I threw a bag in the freezer to cook up this recipe again. 
Leave a Reply

