Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins

100_1269This morning, I was looking for a new recipe to cook. I looked through several in which I was missing at least one item to make it. For this recipe, it was buttermilk. I was fairly certain I could do something to turn the milk I had into buttermilk. Sure enough, one cup of milk and 1 T. lemon juice sitting at room temperature for 10 minutes makes buttermilk.

I reminded me of a story about buttermilk and my nephew. Each night before bed, my nephew pours himself a glass of milk. My sister buys 1% milk. My nephew poured himself a glass and went to chug it down. Immediately he was spitting it out screaming to my sister that the milk was bad. My sister was sure that wasn’t possible because she had just bought it. When Steph looked at the jug, she noticed it was buttermilk. Apparently, 1% and buttermilk use the same color for labeling.

Although Brock wouldn’t recommend that you drink buttermilk, I am sure he would approve of the taste baked into this recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins from Pinterest
2 c. flour
¾ c. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 c. buttermilk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
¼ c. applesauce
1 c. chopped strawberries
½ c. rhubarb

Topping
½ c. flour
½ c. light brown sugar
¼ c. melted butter

Whisk buttermilk, eggs, vanilla, and applesauce. In a separate bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Combine wet and dry ingredients and stir. Fold in strawberries and rhubarb. Put in muffin cups. Top with crumb mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Notes:

  • I used frozen strawberries and rhubarb.
Leave a Reply

