I Can’t Sleep

HJ Pancake

Creative Common Flickr photo by: rob_rob2001

It’s 5AM and I can’t sleep. I woke up worrying about how Jeremiah and I are going to eat on the Harvesters’ SNAP Challenge budget for the next week.

Our original plan sounded great. After dinner last night, we started working the numbers. Our original estimate was $93. Yikes! After taxes, we have about $41 to spend on food. It may sound like a lot – but I promise you it isn’t. We decided to go to Sprouts & HyVee and spent over two hours getting actual prices. Sadly, that was about $60. Then, we stayed up until 10:30 (way past our bed time) trying to figure this out. We made tough decisions like to buy the full sodium chicken stock to save $.38 per can. This was really tough for me since I am trying to watch my sodium intake for blood pressure reasons. We cut out meat. We cut cheese. And before going to bed, we cut our $3.99 Hy-Vee brand K-cups.

Day 2 – Back to the drawing board. We have two days to try to figure this out.

Breakfast was one of my biggest concerns. I work out in the mornings and burn 300 calories before breakfast. Plus, Jeremiah needs to eat something with his medicine. Our original plan was to make Harvesters’ Breakfast Burritos. My breakfast epiphany this morning was to buy the $1.25 Hungry Jack pancake mix and syrup (on sale at HyVee) for the week. (Bonus note – you earn $0.01 per item in Fuel Saver Rewards.) You only have to add water to the Hungry Jack mix to make pancakes. Water is free – not really but at least as far as our SNAP budget goes. We can each eat three pancakes every morning and will still have mix left. That means our price per serving is less than $0.09 per pancake (with butter and syrup). Take that SNAP budget! I couldn’t make basic French toast,  Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Banana Pancakes, Cinnamon Applesauce Pancakes, or the Whole Wheat Pancakes for less than that price per pancake.

 

Leave a Reply

