Blueberry Crumble

Jeremiah and I in MaineIt feels like it has been forever since I last wrote a blog post. Perhaps, that’s because it has been a few months. Today, I’m procrastinating packing for my impending move so I thought I’d take a few minutes and share a new recipe I cooked this past weekend.

During my blog hiatus, Jeremiah and I went on vacation to Maine. We walked on a sandbar to Arcadia National Park at low tide. We took a harbor cruise that included a step back to the 1980s on the Cranberry Isles (everything has to be shipped over to the island by Ferry boat so I reminded a little of my childhood days growing up in a small Nebraska town). But our favorite view was sitting on a park bench watching the Harbor while sipping on an Acadian Turtle from the Coffee Hound. Although the landscape is gorgeous, they say there is no place like home. (Wait a minute, I guess that’s ironic since I live in Kansas.) Sometimes we forget how lucky we are to live a city with amazing cuisine and some of the best customer service. Don’t get me wrong, we enjoyed our Foodie Tour of Bar Harbor and my ridiculous quest to Hart’s Turkey Farm Restaurant in New Hampshire. (Have I mentioned that Maine is a big a** state to cross on windy roads at 50 MPH?) After eating more than our fill of seafood, Jeremiah was craving a steak. We went to the place deemed to have the best steak on the island. We quickly learned that carnivore loving Kansas Citians should NEVER order steak in the northeast. That said, probably the best dish I ate on our entire vacation was a blueberry cobbler at the steakhouse. Maine’s blueberries are amazing. Although I can’t get them here, I did take advantage of $.99 blueberry sale at Price Chopper this week and tried to recreate the dish at home. It wasn’t quite the same but I did like this recipe so I thought I would share. (I’m also including the Gluten-Free and Dairy Free alterations for anyone who needs them. We have a learned a lot through dining adventures with Jeremiah’s nephew to understand how hard it is to get Gluten-Free/Diary Free dishes).

Blueberry CobblerBlueberry Cobbler from Wicked Good Kitchen
6 c. (3 containers) of fresh blueberries
1 c. sugar
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
3 T. flour

Crumble Mixture
1 c. plus 5 T. flour
6 T. sugar
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
¼. tsp. salt
6 T. chilled butter, cut into pieces
1 large egg
1 tsp. vanilla

Butter a shallower round baking dish (I used my Rachel Ray Bubble and Brown dish.) Wash and dry blueberries being sure to remove any stems. Pour into dish. In a bowl, mix sugar and lemon zest. Then, add 3 T. flour. Pour on top of blueberries. In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt to make the crumble. Then, blend in butter (with a fork or knead mixer beaters). In a small dish, beat the egg and add vanilla. Pour into flour mixture and stir until combined. Pour on top of blueberries. Sprinkle with nutmeg or sugar/cinnamon mixture. Bake at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

Notes:

  • I didn’t have a lemon zest so I used lemon juice. I think it turned out fine.
  • The original recipe says you can cover the dish with foil 20 minutes in to prevent browning. We did not and it tasted/looked just fine.
  • Gluten free option: substitute flour with gluten free flour.
    Dairy Free option: If you are also allergic to dairy, substitute with Earth Balance natural buttery spread. It is my understanding that it has no taste but it works the same way butter does. For the egg, you could ½ medium banana or ¼ c. applesauce.
Leave a Reply

