Fall French Toast

You know how much I love breakfast. French toast is one of my favorites. This recipe came from my most recent issue of Simple and Delicious by Taste of Home. I saw this recipe created by a Kansas City suburbanite and it just screamed fall. I baked it while we were at the gym and it smelled amazing when we walked back into our apartment. Jeremiah and I thought it wasn’t super sweet so I would definitely recommend serving it with a little syrup. We did not the first day and figured it out quickly.

Cranberry French ToastCranberry Cream Cheese French Toast by Sandie Heindel
12 c. cubed French bread
2 pk. (8 oz.) cream cheese
1 can (14 oz.) whole berry cranberry sauce
12 eggs, lightly beaten
2 c. milk
1/3 c. maple syrup
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
Dash of nutmeg

Spray a 13 x 9 pan with non-stick spray. Arrange half the bread in bottom of the pan. Top with cream cheese and spoonfuls of cranberry sauce. Cover with remaining bread. In a large bowl, mix eggs, milk, syrup, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Pour over the casserole. Cover and place in the fridge overnight. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake uncovered for 50-60 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Notes:

  • I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 9 pan for the same amount of time.
  • I used skim milk and third less fat cream cheese.
One response

Leave a Reply

