Slow Cooker Taco Soup

My cousin Jeanna is my artistic and fashionista cousin. She helps people design their homes and I wish she was helping me to do so. Why can’t you have a piece of software that shows you what all the things you picked will look like together with your furniture in my new home?

When Jeanna married her husband Jon a few years ago, I jokingly said, “I guess you can’t join this family unless your name starts with a ‘J’.” You see, all my cousins in the Bourek side’s names start with the letter J – Jenny (aka Jen or Jennifer now), Jill, Jeanna, Jodi, and Jackson. Did I mention I also have an aunt Joyce and an uncle Jerry? Little did I know, my then boyfriend Jeremiah would become my husband.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup by Jon and Jeanna Moore
IMG_0112
1 lb. group beef, cooked
1 onion, chopped
1 – 16 oz. can chili beans with liquid
1 – 15 oz. can kidney beans with liquid
1 – 15 oz. can whole kernel corn
1 – 8 oz. can tomato sauce
2 c. water
2 – 14 oz. cans diced tomatoes
1 – 4 oz. can diced green chili peppers
1 package of taco seasoning

Place beef, onion, chili beans, kidney beans, corn, tomatoes, tomato sauce, water, green peppers, and taco seasoning in Crockpot. Cook on low for 8 hours. Pair with tortilla chips for a crunchy finish.

Notes:

  • Jeremiah and I use no salted canned goods and tortilla chip from the health food section. This left our dish a little bland. We topped our soup with a little cheese and fresh cilantro. I think also cooking the meat with the taco seasoning could have made it more flavorful.
  • I also wondered about maybe adding some black beans to the dish.

 

Leave a Reply

